Grade 1Grade 2Grade 3Grade 4Grade 5Grade 6Grade 7Grade 8KindergartenPreschool

The essential document for any Core Knowledge teacher or school, the 2010 Core Knowledge Sequence is intended to help children establish strong foundations of knowledge, grade by grade. It represents our best effort to identify and describe the specific core of shared knowledge that all children should learn in U.S. schools.

The Core Knowledge Sequence Cover

For grades K–8, the Sequence is organized by grade level and, within each grade, by subject. The K–8 Sequence provides a coherent, cumulative, and content-specific outline of specific knowledge and skills to be taught in language arts, history and geography (world and American), mathematics, science, visual arts, and music. You can download a high-level summary of topics in the K–8 Core Knowledge Sequence.

The Preschool Sequence provides model guidelines of fundamental competencies and specific knowledge to build coherent foundations for later learning in kindergarten and beyond. The Preschool Sequence is meant for children between the ages of three and five.

The Sequence has served as our source document. All of the publications and activities of the Core Knowledge Foundation—books, curriculum materials, professional development, and more—have been motivated by the goal of ensuring that all children have access to enabling knowledge of the kind described in the Core Knowledge Sequence.

About the Revision Process

Since its inception, over 30 years ago, the Core Knowledge Sequence has been updated and revised.  A draft of the next edition, anticipated to be released in late 2022, is the result of a multi-year effort that engaged subject-matter experts and educator focus groups, and involved a careful review of national standards and current trends in cognitive science.

To learn more about the proposed revisions, and offer feedback, please read this blog post.

  • Complete the following and gain access to all of our free resources.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Explore the Sequence now!

Previous UnitNext Unit

Need help downloading resources?

Read our troubleshooting guide for support or contact us with your questions.