The Core Knowledge Foundation is proud to announce its new
Middle School CKLA program, beginning with Grade 6

These eight units offer a full year of instruction, building students’ reading comprehension and background knowledge, vocabulary, grammar, and writing skills in alignment with the CCSS-ELA. Students will read a balance of contemporary literature written by diverse authors, as well as new Core Knowledge “Core Classics.”

Click on the links below for more info on each Student Book:

First Drafts of the Unit 1 TG and AB
Have Been Posted for Free Download! 

We invite you to review this unit and send your feedback to [email protected]

The Grade 6 CKLA materials will be available online only during 2021-2022.
Stay tuned for more information on field testing opportunities!

One comment on “NEW Core Knowledge Language Arts Grade 6 Units”

  1. 1
    Kim Lohse on May 27, 2021

    Our school district has recently adopted Flying Lessons as a core text for the seventh grade. One of the main purposed of adopting this text is the range of divers cultures and authors represented in the book. In looking through the materials in unit one, there seems many of the lessons are around ELA, which is excellent. We know that helping students find mirrors and windows in other cultures is also part of reading. There are some cultural supplements and resources, which is excellent. I was wondering if you had resources for having a rich discussion about learning from other cultures, and sharing our own?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
All comments are held for moderation.