Grade 6Language Arts

Focus: In this first unit of CKLA Grade 6, students will practice reading and writing short stories, using a collection of selected stories from Flying Lessons & Other Stories. Written by middle-grade authors representing a wide array of cultures and experiences, including Walter Dean Myers, Meg Medina, Grace Lin, Jacqueline Woodson, and other popular, award-winning writers, these stories and your classroom discussion will give students the opportunity to explore the diverse backgrounds represented in your classroom, community, and our country. The topic of cultural diversity in America is a timely one. The stories in Flying Lessons & Other Stories will help readers recognize and appreciate the things that make each of us different—and the things we have in common. 

Number of Lessons: 10

Lesson Time: 90 minutes. Each lesson is broken down in to 45 minute segments.

Additional Terms: identity • diversity • friendship • fiction • short stories

Grade-by-Grade Recommendations for Additional Titles by Other Publishers
  • Complete the following and gain access to all of our free resources.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Individual Resources

Previous UnitNext Unit

Need help downloading resources?

Read our troubleshooting guide for support or contact us with your questions.